The Norwich First World War Roll of Honour lists 3,544 names. This site provides details of those men listed on the panels.
If you have photographs or further information about any of those listed, send it to us at the
Royal Norfolk Regimental Museum so that we can enhance the information on this site.
Website supported by the National Lottery through the Heritage Lottery Fund.
The Roll of Honour was designed by Sir Edwin Lutyens to complement the City Memorial which was unveiled in 1927. While Lutyens is the most famous and prolific designer of memorials nationally, this ingeniously designed oak case, with twelve neatly folding out leaves containing the names of the men, is unique.
Originally placed in Norwich Castle Keep in 1931, the Roll of Honour has been conserved and restored in 2016. Installed within the entrance of City Hall it becomes a true companion piece to the memorial.
The Roll of Honour is currently being conserved prior to being installed in the front entrance of City Hall. It will be unveiled on the 11th November 2016, after which it can be opened by appointment for individual panels to be seen.